Lab Members

Principal Investigator

Qinggong Tang, Ph.D.

Dr. Tang is an Assistant Professor with Endowed Stephenson Professorship at the University of Oklahoma in Norman, Oklahoma from 2018. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Optoelectronics from the Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China, in 2012 and his Ph.D. in Bioengineering from the University of Maryland, College Park. His interests include optical coherence tomography, multiphoton microscopy, fluorescence laminar optical tomography, development of novel quantitative multi-modal optical imaging devices and their applications in brain functional imaging, tissue engineering, clinical translation, and cancer research. His research has been published in Journal of Controlled Release, Biotechnology, and Bioengineering, scientific reports, Biomedical Optics Express, etc. He has been invited to give talks at many renowned conferences and has been a reviewer for Light: Science & Applications, Scientific Reports, Oncotarget, Biomedical Optics Express, etc.

 

Graduate Students

 

Chen Wang (Fall 2019- )
I am a PhD student majoring in BME. My research work is closely related to optical coherence tomography (OCT) technique used for diagnose and surgery. Also, I’m interested in endoscope and its applications on detection of tissue in order to help doctors in therapy process.

Contact: chen_wang_ou@ou.edu

 

Feng Yan (Fall 2019- )
Feng Yan is a PhD student in the Biomedical Engineering program of Stephenson School of Biomedical Engineering at University of Oklahoma. He earned his Bachelor of Engineering in Optoelectronic Information Science and Engineering at Nanchang Hangkong University. His past research was focused on Stimulated Brillouin Scattering (SBS) and Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT). Currently, he is working on the application of OCT and Fluorescence Laminar Optical Tomography (FLOT) on early Cancer and Tumor Detection.

Contact: feng.yan@ou.edu

 

Qinghao Zhang (Fall 2022- )

Qinghao Zhang is a PhD student in Biomedical Engineering at University of Oklahoma, he earned his Bachelor of Engineering in Electronics and Information Engineering at Guilin University of Electronic Technology. His previous research focused on robotics and communications, now he is working on applying Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) for donor organs evaluation and surgical guidance.

Contact: qinghao.zhang-1@ou.edu

(Ebby) Ebenezer Raj SM (Spring 2023- )
Ebenezer is a PhD student in the Stephenson School of Biomedical Engineering at The University of Oklahoma. He earned his Master of Science degree in Biomedical Engineering from The University of Texas at Dallas. His previous research focused on medical imaging and robotics for improving human health. He will be working on Optical coherence tomography, fluorescence imaging/microscopy and its applications to improve human health.
Contact: ebenezer.raj.selvaraj.mercyshalinie-1@ou.edu
Warid Islam( Spring 2019-)
I am a Ph.D. candidate in the School of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the University of Oklahoma. My research focuses on medical image processing. The overarching goal of my research is to predict tumors from medical images by using machine learning and deep learning.
Contact: warid9666@ou.edu 

 

Bornface Mutembei (05/2022- ) Honors Research program, Accelerated Master Student

Contact: bornface.m.mutembei-1@ou.edu

Undergraduate Students

Avery D. Ladymon (01/2021– ) FYRE program

I am a sophomore in mechanical engineering. I am very interested in applying my knowledge of mechanical engineering principals to the many biomedical engineering projects happening in the lab.

Contact: avery.d.ladymon-1@ou.edu

Zaid A. Alhajeri (01/2022– ) FYRE program

Contact: zaid.a.alhajeri-1@ou.edu

 

Kaustubh Pandit, (02/2023- )

Contact: kaustubh.pandit@ou.edu 

Thomas Nguyen, (08/2023- ) 
Contact: thomas.d.nguyen1@ou.edu

Mobina Mohammadnejad,  (BME Junior 08/2023- )

Contact: mobinam@ou.edu

Khushi Damani, (08/2023- ) Honors Research program
Contact: khushi.damani@ou.edu
Neil MLuhar, (08/2023- ) 
Contact: neil.m.luhar-1@ou.edu

Michael Marah, (05/2023- )

Contact: michaelmarah02@ou.edu

Takaki Mishima, (01/2024- ) FYRE program
Contact: takaki.j.mishima-1@ou.edu
Avery Thompson, (01/2024- )
Contact: averyathompson@ou.edu
Dustin Pham, (03/2024- )
Contact: dustin.n.pham-1@ou.edu
Tiffani Luedke, (04/2024- )
Contact: tiffani.s.luedke-1@ou.edu
A V Aashutosh, (03/2024- ) Remotely
Contact: f20210056@hyderabad.bits-pilani.ac.in
Ahmet Bahadir Polat, (03/2024- )
Contact: ahmet.bahadir.polat-1@ou.edu
Dylan Patterson, (04/2024- )
Contact: dylan.o.patterson-1@ou.edu